New York quarantine rules and fines

As I wrote in this story, the three states of the tri-state area—New York, Connecticut and New Jersey—recently introduced a mandatory 14-day quarantine for arriving visitors from states suffering from more intense swells of the pandemic. (See below for more details.) Until yesterday, it was not fully clear how these rules would be enforced. Well, in New York, things just got a little clearer.

Anyone entering New York from an affected state must complete a Traveler Health Form in advance of their stay, and those who leave the airport without doing so now face a $2,000 fine plus additional penalty. “Enforcement teams” stationed at New York’s airports will be checking for completed forms, which can also be found and completed here. Here’s the official statement as it’s written on the New York coronavirus homepage:

“A travel enforcement operation will commence at airports across the state to help ensure travelers are following the state’s quarantine restrictions. As part of the enforcement operation, enforcement teams will be stationed at airports statewide to meet arriving aircrafts at gates and greet disembarking passengers to request proof of completion of the State Department of Health traveler form, which is being distributed to passengers by airlines prior to, and upon boarding or disembarking flights to New York State.

“All out-of-state travelers from designated states must complete the form upon entering New York. Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $2,000 fine and may be brought to a hearing and ordered to complete mandatory quarantine. Travelers coming to New York from designated states through other means of transport, including trains and cars, must fill out the form online.”

Connecticut and New Jersey have so far not put similar enforcement tactics into effect, but both states may soon issue updates of their own. For the latest quarantine rules in all 50 states, see this story:

What states do the NY/CT/NJ quarantine rules apply to?

The joint quarantine rules apply to residents of states where at least 10% of COVID-19 tests are coming back positive (seven-day rolling average). At the time of this writing, per New York’s coronavirus homepage, the quarantine rules apply to arrivals in NY, CT and NJ from the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

There are exceptions, however. People traveling through any of the three states and who will be inside borders for under 24 hours are allowed to make flight connections and stop at rest stops, for example. More exceptions to and more details on New York’s policy are available here.


Have your own tip? Email it to!
Want to see more tips? Click here for all 1,752!

Want even more travel tips? Sign up here for the Daily Travel Tip newsletter! Enter your email address and check “Daily Travel Tip” to receive Johnny’s best tips in your inbox each day!

If you already subscribe to our weekly newsletter, you can sign up on the same page. Just fill in your email and check “Daily Travel Tip” on the same page. You’ll receive an email with a link to update your preferences. On that page, just click the Daily Travel Tip box and Update Profile.

5 Comments On "New York Is Now Issuing $2,000 Fines to Travelers That Don't Fill Out This Form"
  1. Kathleen Davis|

    Do you know anything about a Global card and if so
    Will you please explain what it is.
    Thank you.

    1. Johnny Jet|

      Do you mean Global Entry? Yes, it’s

  2. Marlin|

    How exactly do they police that, if traveling by car or truck?

  3. Anonymous|

    You are a such an irrelevant greedy coward!!!!
    be safe!
    be afraid!!
    hide and be sorry!!!

    1. Johnny Jet|

      Says someone who submitted an Anonymous comment

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *