Amid growing concerns about a new variant of the coronavirus, the US government, along with Canada, the United Kingdom and the European Union, is imposing travel restrictions on travel from eight African nations.

The countries include South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Lesotho and Eswatini. This comes following the World Health Organization calling the new variant a variant of concern and naming it Omicron.

According to the New York Times, the travel restrictions will not apply to American citizens or lawful permanent residents. “But they will need to show a negative coronavirus test before coming to the United States.”

The Biden administration is reported to have consulted with South African scientists this morning before making the announcement and the government says they will continue to liaise with international health officials to learn more about the new variant and the risk it poses.

Below is an example of the chaos this is causing, not only for future travelers, but present ones too, including flight crew.

This is a developing story.

1 Comment On "BREAKING NEWS: US Restricts Travel from These Eight Countries"
  1. Ernest Lane|

    Unless, of course, you cross the southern border illegally.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *