New York City is ramping up enforcement of state quarantine rules

As I wrote in this story last week, the state of New York’s strict quarantine rules are now being even more strictly enforced in New York City. The rules, which currently apply to travelers from 33 states and territories (see below), require that travelers from the listed states complete the New York State Department of Health traveler form and quarantine for a period of 14 days upon arrival. And now, says the Office of the Mayor, the city is using “COVID-19 traveler registration checkpoints at key entry points into New York City to ensure compliance with New York State quarantine requirements and further the containment of COVID-19…The DOF Sheriff’s Office, in coordination with other law enforcement agencies, will operate traveler registration checkpoints at major bridge and tunnel crossings into New York City.” The Port Authority Bus Terminal is reportedly among the sites with checkpoints. On August 6, too, the Mayor’s Public Engagement Unit began “outreach at Penn Station to educate travelers about New York State home-quarantine orders.”

The latest update also confirms that “individuals who fail to quarantine are subject to a $10,000 fine” and those “who refuse to fill out the New York State Department of Health travel form are subject to a $2,000 fine.” So don’t go taking these rules lightly. The state and city aren’t, and if you need more convincing, get this: One of my friend’s mom just got a phone call from the state of New York the day after she returned from California to make sure she was quarantining!

What states are on the New York quarantine list?

After another update on Tuesday (August 11), New York’s quarantine rules (in the city and across the state) apply to visitors from 31 states plus Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wisconsin


Have your own tip? Email it to!
Want to see more tips? Click here for all 1,773!

Want even more travel tips? Sign up here for the Daily Travel Tip newsletter! Enter your email address and check “Daily Travel Tip” to receive Johnny’s best tips in your inbox each day!

If you already subscribe to our weekly newsletter, you can sign up on the same page. Just fill in your email and check “Daily Travel Tip” on the same page. You’ll receive an email with a link to update your preferences. On that page, just click the Daily Travel Tip box and Update Profile.

3 Comments On "New York City Is Ramping Up Enforcement of State Quarantine Rules"
  1. GHD|

    Typical New York. He needs to read US Constitution Article IV Section 2. Privileges and Immunities clause says that I (Louisiana citizen) am free to travel to his state without impediment. See Bailey, et al v County of Dare NC. I guess no one really wants to go to New York now. One should know and protect their rights or they will be taken.

  2. FMM|

    just curious – were you making the same argument when southern states, such as FL, barred NY’ers at the beginning of the pandemic?

    1. Johnny Jet|

      Definitely. I wrote about it multiple times in my newsletter

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *