Great news for Californians and residents of five other states wanting to travel to New York City and the surrounding area: You won’t have to quarantine for 14 days.

This also is the case for the whole Tri-State area so travelers can now go to New Jersey and my home state of Connecticut, as the three have formed a partnership during this pandemic.

New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, Connecticut Ned Lamont and New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy announced yesterday that six states—California, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada and Ohio—have been removed from New York State’s COVID-19 travel advisory.

Here’s the full, updated travel advisory list.

Unfortunately, Puerto Rico has been added. Individuals entering the Tri-State area from states with a significant spread of COVID-19 should quarantine for 14 days after leaving that state.

Governor Cuomo said, “When other states and territories make progress fighting COVID-19, that’s good for New York and while I am glad to see areas removed from the travel advisory list, it still remains far too long.” Cuomo goes on to say, ” We must continue to be New York Tough and stay smart. Wearing masks, social distancing and hand washing is what tamed this beast in New York and we must keep it up.”

Here’s where to find the latest quarantine rules for each state.



Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *