Don’t Pump Your Own Gas in These States
Each Friday, we feature a reader-submitted tip as our Travel Tip of the Day. This week’s tip comes from reader Linda A. who says:
“I live in Texas and traveled to Oregon and rented a car. I went to the service station and knew it was much higher than Texas by 75 cents. I started pumping and then the attendant asked me if I was from out of town and I said ‘yes, why?’ He then said it is a $500 fine to pump your own gas. I didn’t see any signs and I was lucky that he was a nice guy and didn’t turn me in.”
As of July 2016, Oregon and New Jersey remain the only two states with such laws against pumping your own gas (though Oregon has amended its law slightly). Whether fines are actually doled out is a different story, as discussed here. In any case, never forget that laws change with geography—regarding gas and everything else. Thanks, Linda!
Related: Reader Travel Tip of the Day: Find the Gas Cap Release.
Tried this tip? Let me know in the comments!
Have your own tip? Email it to firstname.lastname@example.org!
Want to see more tips? Click here for all 733!
Want even more travel tips? Subscribe to the Daily Travel Tip newsletter! All you have to do is sign up for the weekly newsletter by filling in your email address and checking the Daily Travel Tip box in the top-right corner of the homepage.
If you already subscribe to the newsletter, fill in your email and check the Daily Travel Tip box in the same top-right corner of the homepage and you’ll receive an email with a link to update your JohnnyJet.com preferences. On that page, just click the Daily Travel Tip box and Update Profile and you’ll have Johnny’s best tips, straight to your inbox each day. And don’t worry—it’s easier than it sounds!
New Jersey has attendant pumped gas and it is less expensive than in the surrounding states, too. However this might not last, as they are considering raising the gas tax to close a budget gap.